Disclaimer: this is based on how I deal with my OCD, it may or may not work for you but I want to try to help you in any way I can so good luck, I hope it works for you.

I have written a blog about getting fired because I had OCD, which you can find on here, but that was at least three months ago and now I have been to CBT and have been upped on my Fluoxetine.

The first step to getting over OCD or making it bearable and not interfere with your life is to admit that there is a problem, is it a fear of germs? Or do you do things a certain amount of times? (for example; walking in and out of a room three times) and so on. The problem isn’t just that you just do these things but it’s what goes through your head while you’re doing it. Do you feel like if you don’t do what you’re doing something bad will happen to you or a loved one? Do you get anxious and the only thing that’ll get rid of the feeling is by doing these things? Obsessive compulsive disorder is an anxiety disorder.

Now that you have figured out what the problem actually is, the best thing to do is talk to your doctor and be completely honest with them, if they don’t know how to feel they won’t be able to help you.

After talking to your doctor, they may prescribe your Fluoxetine 20mg and refer you to the Mental Health Team (don’t worry, it’s not as bad as it sounds) so you can get other treatment such as CBT/Therapy. If you’re given Fluoxetine, I highly recommend you take them before you go bed. If you take it in the morning, you will end up needing a nap throughout the day which I hated.

After a few days, you should get a letter from the Mental Health Team and it’ll have your doctors name on it and a list of treatments that you could undergo. Make an appointment as soon as you can and take this letter with you to show your doctor. When I did this, I was upped from 20mg to 40mg of Fluoxetine and gave me a number to ring to arrange a few CBT sessions.

The second step is taking your medication (never just stop taking them, you may feel fine after a day or two but believe me, it’ll change and it’s not good) and when your CBT sessions have been arranged, attend them and try your best. It may not help you, it didn’t help me but everyone is different, you may find that talking to someone and getting stuff off your chest helps.

The third step is to find a hobby that will help take your mind off of the thoughts, mine is photography and my Fiancée bought me a Canon PowerShot SX410 IS so I could take better quality photos. You need to find something that helps you “zone out” for a while and believe me it helps, maybe you enjoy playing video games. Every time you start to get the obsessive thoughts, distract yourself, eventually you won’t need to distract yourself and you’ll be able to quickly deal with the feelings and thoughts.

After awhile, you will feel better and you will start to see progress. When you do notice you’re getting better, you should reward yourself, for example; a new video game, book, etc.

It does get better but only if you believe it will, it takes time so be patient. You will take a few steps forward and a few steps back but getting better is not a sprint, it’s a marathon. You will get to your finish line at your own pace and it’ll be worth the time. So keep your head up. I really do hope this helps you and you become the best version of yourself.

By reading this, you are going in the right direction because you are researching and looking for help, keep up the good work.

Let me know if this helps you in anyway.

I wish you all the best!

Jack Bond!

