When I was a kid, I spent a lot of time at my Nan’s house and when you walk through her front door, you enter a hallway that was filled with family photos. I loved looking at the photos and seeing the story behind them, my favourite photo was a black and white picture of my Nan’s Dad in his army uniform from one of the World War’s and his medals that he earned. It was one of the biggest pictures out of my Nan’s whole collection and it stood out from the rest.

My Nan told me a story about her Dad in the war and every time I saw that picture I remembered it.

I love stories, I like hearing people’s experiences and I like telling my own stories. Photography is a great way to tell a story, you can capture any moment in a picture and keep that story alive forever.

I really love Instagram (@jackbond4), I hate that they added videos to it, I follow a lot of photographers and the pictures they upload inspires me. They travel to different countries, experience different things and share it to their followers. You can view the world through their camera without even leaving your home.

Photography has helped me so much with personal issues and it has given me confidence to chase my dreams by telling my story through writing and photos.

I began taking photos just like everyone else, by using my phone which is a Microsoft Lumia 535 — it has a 5MP front and back camera so for taking photos, it’s amazing and it was only £40. I used a free app called Lumia Creative Studio to edit my photos and I would upload them to Instagram.

Taken on my Microsoft Lumia 535

Now I have a Canon PowerShot SX410 IS which my beautiful, loving Fiancée surprised me with, a month or two ago so I could take better quality photos and I feel more professional using a bridge camera than a smartphone. There’s nothing wrong with using a smartphone to capture images, I just want to go all in on my photography and eventually starting recording short films.

Taken on my Canon PowerShot SX410 IS

I feel lucky that at a young age, I knew what I wanted to do with my life and now I am following the right steps towards my goals. I encourage everyone who is reading this to do the same, follow your dreams.

Be patient, smile and have fun!

Thank you for reading, see you next time!

Jack.

