Right now, I’m 21 and since I was 18, a lot of things have happened in the past three years. At first, when I was going through it, I complained a lot!

Why is this happening to me? Poor me! Blah! Blah! Blah!

I felt sorry for myself and I was down, I focused on the bad things and my Nan picked up on this. She was reading The Secret by Rhonda Byrne, it changed the way she thought about things and when we spoke on the phone, I noticed she was really positive about everything.

She went to a charity shop and looked for this book. She eventually found it and sent it to me as soon as she could. It arrived quickly and I started to read it. The first time I read it, I read a few pages and didn’t have the patience to sit down and read. It sat in a draw for a year, I tried to read it but again, I couldn’t sit still to read it.

After losing my job earlier this year, I became really depressed about it and it affected me a lot until around two or three months ago when I started to change the way I thought about things.

I decided one day that this wouldn’t be how I lived my life and I would change myself, I wrote down a list of things I wanted to achieve within the year. One of them was to read at least two books and after a week, I read three and it felt really good crossing it off of my list.

I started to feel better about myself and became more motivated to achieve more of my goals.

I wish I was like this back when I was 18!

I thought to myself.

Then I looked back at everything and realised even though it was really tough, I learnt a lot from the situation. And that was

1. I realised who was really there for me and to me, those people are classed as my family now. Blood makes you related, loyalty makes you family. It was my Fiancée and her family that were there for me and still are to this day. The person I am today is because of them and I love them all for it.

2. Change isn’t a bad thing and do not be afraid of it, adapt with it. I read a book called Who Moved My Cheese? By Dr Spencer Johnson and it was a story about two mice (Sniff and Scurry) and two little people (Hem and Haw) trying to find their ‘cheese’ in a maze and how they reacted to it disappearing, Sniff and Scurry reacted very well and adapted by going further into the maze to look for more cheese. Hem and Haw decided to stay where they were until one day, Haw decided to get out of his comfort zone and search the maze but Hem was too stubborn and thought he was entitled the cheese so he stayed where he was. I realised I was Hem, I didn’t want to face the changes that were happening to me, now I am Haw. I have escaped my comfort zone and I have never been happier. My OCD doesn’t affect my life as bad as it once did, I am more motivated and I am proud of myself — I can’t take all the credit, my family helped a lot.

3. I learnt to believe in myself, for years I put myself down and thought I didn’t deserve to be happy or successful. My Fiancée showed me that I was a good person and it was the people from my past that installed those thoughts into me.

Now I only look back to see how far I’ve come, I am not the same person I was three years ago.

My advice to anyone going through a tough time, I urge you to read Who Moved My Cheese? by Dr Spencer Johnson and actually take it the message. It will change your life!

I want to thank my Fiancée and my family for all of their support, I owe all my progress to you and I love you all.

I want to thank everyone who reads my articles and supports me.

Thank you!

I’ll see you next time!

Jack Bond

