…my thoughts.

Whenever I look into Minimalism, I always hear “Less is more” and that’s from articles, videos and books. At first, I didn’t understand it. How can less be more? I used to ask myself. Surely the more you had, the better right? No!

You can have 20 pairs of shoes, 30 pairs of jeans and every single Apple product, it will seem really good at first, you’ll feel like the happiest person in the world but eventually you will start to see all of those possessions as a burden and they will start to hold you back from enjoying yourself.

Think about it.

Look in your closet, look at all of your clothes, how many of them do you actually wear?

Look at all your possessions, how many of them do you need? How many of them are just in case items? I have this just in case I need it in the future… that’s usually cables. We all have a junk draw that has random stuff inside it, batteries, wires, paper, disposable cameras and more.

I love simplicity, why complicate things when there’s no need to?

I used to have so many things when I was younger (up until I was 18, I’m nearly 22) and when I look back it held me back from living my life. When I moved, I had to worry about all this useless stuff, how is it going to fit into the van? Its just pointless so I eventually decided to get rid of anything I had no use for. I had around 7 pairs of shoes, 5 pairs of jeans, loads of t-shirts, hoodies and coats, but now I have 2 pairs of shoes, 2 pairs of jeans, 5 t-shirts, 2 hoodies, 2 coats and a few pairs of boxers and socks.

It can all fit into a weekend bag and a backpack.

I also minimised my online accounts; I had a Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, 3 Youtube channels, Medium and WordPress account. I only have Instagram, 1 YouTube channel and a WordPress account. Its good not having to worry about remembering all the passwords for each account.

Ever since I decided to get rid of useless stuff and be picky with what I allow into my life, I have been a lot happier and I have been less stressed about keeping up with everything I own.

I highly recommend trying to cut down on your possessions and your digital life, you will feel the change.

Let me know what you think in the comments below.

Thank you and see you next time,

Jack!

