Like most Call of Duty players, Modern Warfare was my first CoD game back in 2007 on the PlayStation 3. It was constantly recommended to me by a lot of people from my school and at the time, I had just started using the internet so playing with other players from around the world amazed me.

Modern Warfare (2007) cover
Modern Warfare (2007) cover

When I first started playing, I was without a doubt, terrible. My team had to carry on Team DeathMatch and I was the reason they lost, my average score was less than 10 to nearly or over 20 deaths and I’m not being dramatic.

I didn’t care, I was having so much fun.

I eventually got an Xbox 360 and Modern Warfare was one of my first purchases. Then World At War came out and that was even more fun, the same goes for Modern Warfare 2 all the way up to Modern Warfare 3 – I skipped Black Ops 2 because I was moving and Ghosts had its problems but it wasn’t as fun as it was when I was younger.

Ghosts (2013) cover
Ghosts (2013) cover

Because of this, I skipped Advanced Warfare and I only purchased Black Ops 3 two months after its release. It was fun at first since it was a new style of playing but quickly became boring, there was a lot of DLC weapons and it seemed like the more money you put into the game, the better you played.

Black Ops 3 (2015) cover
Black Ops 3 (2015) cover

Now, Infinite Warfare has been out since November 2016 and Modern Warfare Remastered was released with it, the old Modern Warfare (2007) feeling lasted a few weeks before an update was released and supply drops was introduced which has taken away the old school feel for me since the Remastered version is littered with micro transactions.

Infinite Warfare (2016) cover
Infinite Warfare (2016) cover

It is only downhill from here, Activison is most likely trying to get as much money as they can from the franchise before the ship sinks. I have no plans on getting the 2017 instalment. I will save my money and wait for The Last of Us Part 2 at least then, I will get a great story as well as a good Multiplayer.

A screenshot from The Last of Us Part 2 trailer
A screenshot from The Last of Us Part 2 trailer
