This is a short list of video games that have been announced that I am looking forward to in 2017-2018. I have listed two sequels and I have also avoided spoiling anything from the first games just in case you haven’t played them yet.

  • The Last of Us: Part II | PlayStation 4 | Naughty Dog
Screenshot from the trailer
Screenshot from the trailer

Ever since the PlayStation exclusive The Last of Us came out back in June 2013, fans have been wondering what would happen in the sequel or a possible prequel about Joel’s past with his brother, Tommy before the events of the first game. After years of wondering, the sequel has been announced and the trailer was shown at the PlayStation Experience 2016 but no release date has been officially announced. I’ve heard that it will released around Christmas 2018.

Click here for the trailer

  • Spider-Man | PlayStation 4 | Insomniac Games
Screenshot from the trailer
Screenshot from the trailer

Like most kids when I was growing up, I loved Spider-Man – I watched the cartoon series before going to school and I played most of the games on the Psone and PS2. When Insomnias Games announced E3 2016, I was instantly excited to play it but unfortunately, it looks like it won’t be released in 2017. Either way, I am looking forward to swinging through New York City as the famous and loved Spider-Man.

Click here for the trailer

  • Days Gone | PlayStation 4 | SIE Bend Studio
Screenshot from the trailer
Screenshot from the trailer

I love anything to do with zombies and when I saw the gameplay trailer for this game, I loved it. It is an open world post-apocalyptic third person game, you play as a former bounty hunter turned drifter, Deacon St. John, two years after a global pandemic which turned most of the worlds population into zombie-like monsters. Its rumoured to be released sometime in 2017.

Click here for the trailer

  • Red Dead Redemption 2 | PlayStation 4 and Xbox One | Rockstar Games
Promotional poster
Promotional poster

Its been a long time since the first Red Dead Redemption came out back in May 2010 and the zombie DLC Undead Nightmare in October the same year. I honestly thought after the first games ending, we would of seen a sequel a lot earlier but after Grand Theft Auto V, I have high hopes for this game. It is set to be released in 2017 but no official date has been announced.

Click here for the trailer

